About us

Neon Neue Energieökonomik is a Berlin-based boutique consulting firm for energy economics. As a boutique, we specialize in sophisticated quantitative assessments and economic analyses of electricity markets since 2014. With consulting projects, studies, and training seminars, we support decision-makers tackling today’s pressing issues and future challenges of the energy transition. Our clients include governments, regulatory authorities, grid operators, energy suppliers and electricity traders across Germany and Europe.

Team

As a team of seasoned electricity market experts, we collectively bring 50 years of experience to the table. Prof. Dr. Lion Hirth is founder of Neon and serves as its director. Dr. Ingmar Schlecht is Principal Consultant; his focus is on electricity market design and energy policy. Dr. Anselm Eicke works as Senior Consultant on imbalance settlement and network charges. Senior Consultant Jonathan Mühlenpfordt is our data analyst and coder. Consultants Dr. Clemens Lohr and Vlada Maksimova work primarily on flexibility and grid fees.

Clients

We are proud of our diverse portfolio of clients, comprising public sector institutions such as the German Economics Ministry and the European Commission, as well as a broad range of energy companies, including utilities, traders, project developers, and industrial electricity consumers. We also advise clients in the financial sector, international organizations such as the IEA and think tanks such as Agora Energiewende.

Projects

As a boutique, our work is centered on electricity market design. For the German government, we have worked on the revenue cap and other emergency interventions, market-based redispatch and locational price signals, the coal phase-out and system services procurement. In other projects, we have worked on forward markets, intraday market, retail tarifs, balancing reserves and imbalance pricing, bidding zone split, and the EU electricity market reform. Some of our projects are delivered within days, other stretch over years.

Seminars

Our tailored in-house trainings support teams across the energy sector. The seminar Power Systems & Markets is an introduction to energy economics, policy, and markets. The training Electricity System Modeling offers on introduction to the numerical modeling of power markets and systems. Power Trading is a crash course into wholesale electricity markets and trading. 

Academia

Our work relies on rigorous methods and is informed by academic research. For quantitative analyses we use state-of the art data science and econometrics. Collectively, we have published well over 50 academic articles in leading peer-reviewed journals. We also maintain the power market model EMMA, and have a background in load flow model. For many years, Neon has run Strommarkttreffen, a network of 5000+ energy professionals from academia, industry, and policy.

Profil

Neon Neue Energieökonomik ist ein energiewirtschaftliches Beratungsunternehmen mit Sitz in Berlin. Als Boutique sind wir seit 2014 spezialisiert auf anspruchsvolle quantitative und ökonomisch-theoretische Analysen rund um den Strommarkt. Mit Beratungsprojekten, Studien und Schulungen unterstützen wir Entscheidungsträger bei den aktuellen Herausforderungen und Zukunftsfragen der Energiewende. Zu unseren Kunden gehören Regierungen, Netzbetreiber, Energieversorger und Stromhändler aus Deutschland und Europa.

Team

Wir sind ein eingespieltes Team und haben gemeinsam mehr als 50 Jahre Strommarkt-Erfahrung. Prof. Dr. Lion Hirth ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Neon. Dr. Ingmar Schlecht ist Principal Consultant und arbeitet schwerpunktmäßig zu Strommarktdesign und Fördersystemen. Jonathan Mühlenpfordt ist als Senior Consultant Datenspezialist und Experte für den Intraday-Markt. Dr. Anselm Eicke arbeitet als Senior Consultant zu Ausgleichsenergiepreisen und Netzentgelten. Dr. Clemens Lohr und Vlada Maksimova arbeiten als Consultants schwerpunktmäßig zu Flexibilität und Netzentgelten.

Kunden

Unsere Kunden gehören zu den Treibern der Energiewende und wir sind stolz auf unser diverses Kundenportfolio. Im öffentlichen Sektor arbeiten wir für Regierungen, Regulierungsbehörden und EU-Institutionen. Unser wichtigster Kunde ist seit vielen Jahren das deutsche Wirtschaftsministerium. Im Privatsektor unterstützen wir Netzbetreiber, Energieversorger, Stromhändler, Projektentwickler, industrielle Stromverbraucher und deren Verbände. Daneben arbeiten wir auch für den Finanzsektor, für internationale Organisationen wie die IEA sowie Think Tanks wie Agora Energiewende.

Projekte

Als energiewirtschaftliche Boutique sind wir auf Strommarktdesign spezialisiert. Das BMWK haben wir zuletzt intensiv zum EEG und CfDs, zur Erlösobergrenze und Strompreisbremse, marktbasiertem Redispatch und lokalen Preissignalen, Kohleausstieg und Systemdienstleistungen beraten. In anderen Projekten arbeiten wir zu Terminmärkten, Intraday-Handel, Tarifgestaltung, Netzentgelten, Ausgleichs- und Regelenergie, Gebotszonen und dem EU-Strommarktdesign. Manche Projekte schließen wir in wenigen Tagen ab, andere laufen über Jahre.

Seminare

Mit unseren Trainings unterstützen wir Teams in ganz Europa, energiewirtschaftliche Expertise aufzubauen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Seminar Strommärkte & Energiewirtschaft richtet sich an Einsteiger, Strommarktmodellierung und Stromhandel sind spezialisiertere Angebote. 

Wissenschaft

Unser Arbeit ist geprägt von wissenschaftlichen Methoden und Erkenntnissen. Für quantitative Analysen nutzen wir moderne Datenwissenschaften und Ökonometrie, unser Strommarktmodell EMMA und Lastflussmodelle. Zusammen haben wir mehr als 50 wissenschaftliche Artikel in referierten Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht. Wir stehen im engen Austausch mit der Forschungs-Community und haben lange selbst das Strommarkttreffen organisiert.

Neon Symbol